Two Aces make All-Area Teams

April 17, 2015

Press-Gazette Media's all-area girls basketball team
Andrew Pekarek, Press-Gazette Media
CDT April 16, 2015

Baleigh Delorit, jr., Algoma: The Packerland Conference player of the year averaged 17.1 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.4 assists to lead the Wolves to a ninth straight conference title and advance to the WIAA Division 4 sectional finals. The 5-foot-10 guard shot 45.2 percent (47-for-104) from 3-point range in conference play. She earned honorable mention all-state accolades in Division 4 from the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association.

Natisha Hiedeman, sr., G.B. Southwest: The Marquette recruit scored 666 points this season and averaged 25.1 points per game in league play to lead the Fox River Classic Conference. She was named the FRCC's overall player and defensive player of the year in addition to earning first-team all-state honors from both the WBCA and Associated Press.

Green Bay Southwest senior Natisha Hiedeman discusses her season. The 5-foot-8 guard is Press-Gazette Media's girls basketball player of the year. (April 15, 2015) Andrew Pekarek | Press-Gazette Media

Margaret Miller, sr., De Pere: The St. Thomas (Minn.) recruit averaged 12.3 points, 4.2 rebounds, 3.6 assists and 2.0 steals per game to earn first-team all-FRCC honors. An honorable mention all-state choice by both the WBCA and AP, Miller hit a game-winning shot at the buzzer over Kimberly to help the Redbirds advance to the D1 sectional finals.

Isabella Samuels, sr., G.B. Preble: The UW-Oshkosh recruit averaged 15.0 points and 5.4 rebounds per game to earn first-team all-FRCC honors. The 5-foot-11 center played a pivotal role in helping the Hornets knock off Sheboygan North, the FRCC champion, in a D1 regional semifinal game.

Mariah Szymanski, jr., Pulaski: The 5-foot-6 guard shot 40.2 percent (49-for-122) from 3-point range in earning WBCA Division 2 first-team all-state honors and AP honorable mention all-state accolades. Szymanski, a first-team all-FRCC choice, was the conference's third-leading scorer, averaging 18.6 points per game. She also averaged 4.2 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.6 steals per game.

Coach of the year: Ashley Anthon, West De Pere - The second-year coach led the Phantoms to their first conference title since 1980. West De Pere went 14-2 in the Bay Conference, clinching the title in a tight conference race with victories against Seymour and New London in its final two regular-season games.

Second team

Olivia Campbell, jr., G.B. Notre Dame: The 5-foot-10 guard averaged 12.3 points per game to lead the Tritons to a D2 regional title. She finished second in the FRCC for both assists (3.9 per game) and steals (3.4).

Bailey Denis, sr., West De Pere: The Northern Michigan recruit averaged 11.8 points, 4.5 rebounds, 1.5 assists and 1.3 steals per game to power the Phantoms to their first conference title since 1980. The 5-foot-8 guard earned unanimous first-team all-Bay Conference honors after missing most of her junior season with a torn ACL.

Jen Dowden, sr., Bonduel: The Central Wisconsin Eight Conference player of the year averaged 13.6 points, 7.5 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.4 steals per game to lead the Bears to a conference title. An honorable mention D4 all-state choice by the WBCA, the 6-foot forward finished her prep career as Bonduel's all-time leading scorer.

Jennifer Nehls, jr., Denmark: The 5-foot-11 forward averaged 13.3 points, 5.7 rebounds, 3.9 assists and 3.3 steals per game overall as an unanimous first-team all-Bay Conference choice. Nehls finished as the Bay's third-leading scorer and tied for first for both assists and steals. She played all five positions on the floor in helping the Vikings win a D3 regional title, the program's first since 1983.

Hailey Oskey, fr., Seymour: The 5-foot-10 guard/forward averaged 11.2 points and 5.0 rebounds per game to lead the Thunder. A first-team all-Bay Conference choice, Oskey helped Seymour finish second in the conference and nearly end a 24-year stretch without a conference title.

Honorable mention

Makenna Ash, sr., Gibraltar; Asia Danforth, sr., Seymour; Anna Dier, jr., Algoma; Brooke Geier, so., Kewaunee; Mackenzie Jerks, sr., Bay Port; Ceanne Harrison, sr., Laona/Wabeno; Cassie Hilbert, sr., Marinette; Hellen Hecht, sr., Gibraltar; Taylor Kohls, sr., Gillett; Meghan LaCrosse, fr., Southern Door; Amanda Majewski, jr., Peshtigo; Liz Manns, sr., Oconto Falls; Britney Petersen, sr., Denmark; Jessie Rabas, sr., De Pere; Alexis Ranallo, so., Wausaukee; Maddie Re, so., Bay Port; Lexi Reinke, sr., Bonduel; Jaida Reynen, jr. G.B. East; Emily Shallow, sr., Oconto; Hannah Stefaniak, so., West De Pere; Teja Tonn, jr., Peshtigo; Brooklyn Wolosyn, jr., Niagara; Keifer Zimmerman, sr., N.E.W. Lutheran.

Click here for more information. »